Records don’t contain everything. Many of the things that I have written so far have been performed only live, with an audience, or through the radio, because this allows me to go at my own time. It is difficult to put a collection of songs together because they are not contemporary, and then, well, I am still alive… When the label told me about making this record, I was not pleased because I felt it was a little bit early to do something like this. But then I made up my mind and I decided that it was better for this anthology to be released when I am still alive. 

I had many titles in mind, but then I chose this snooty one, «L’indispensabile», as snooty as a collection has to be. And so, here’s to you «L’Indispensabile».

Many people have worked on this album: my producer Renzo Fantini, to whom I left the choice of the songs; the Turin DJ Renato Striglia, my personal legend; Carlo Feltrinelli, as musical adviser; Andrea Furlani, Francesco Nicoletti and Francesca Leoncini who made the graphics. 

«L’indispensabile» will be published in other European countries, like France, Germany and Spain. That’s why the booklet contains the translated lyrics into these four languages. No English, as it is too well known.

Vinicio Capossela


  1. Si è spento il sole (inedito, cover di Adriano Celentano) – 2:26
  2. Marajà (da Canzoni a manovella; traccia #4) – 3:26
  3. Il ballo di San Vito (da Il ballo di San Vito; traccia #1) – 3:24
  4. Zampanò (da Camera a sud; traccia #2) – 3:00
  5. Morna (da Il ballo di San Vito; traccia #2) – 4:54
  6. Corre il soldato (da Canzoni a manovella; traccia #13) – 3:59
  7. Ultimo amore (da Modì; traccia #6) – 6:48
  8. Che coss’è l’amor (da Camera a sud; traccia #4) – 4:15
  9. Tanco del murazzo (da Il ballo di San Vito; traccia #13) – 5:14
  10. Con una rosa (da Canzoni a manovella; traccia #15) – 5:22
  11. Modì (da Modì; traccia #1) – 4:19
  12. Non è l’amore che va via (da Camera a sud; traccia #1) – 4:04
  13. Il corvo torvo (da Il ballo di San Vito; traccia #5) – 3:18
  14. Ma l’America… (da Camera a sud; traccia #9) – 3:17
  15. Scivola vai via (da All’una e trentacinque circa; traccia #7) – 4:29
  16. …e allora mambo (da Modì; traccia #7) – 3:30
  17. Una giornata senza pretese (da All’una e trentacinque circa; traccia #2) – 3:25
  18. All’una e trentacinque circa (da All’una e trentacinque circa; traccia #11 + ghost track strumentale) – 5:22

Musicians “Si è spento il sole”

Vinicio Capossela (voice), Glauco Zuppiroli (bass), Mirco Mariani (drums), Giancarlo Bianchetti (guitar)